10 Aug
Formed through the common musical aspirations of internationally acclaimed tenor saxophonist Jason Bruer, Hammerhead is comprised of members Andrew Robertson (alto sax and flute), Nick Garbett (trumpet), Greg Coffin (piano), Nic Cecire (drums) and Thomas Botting (bass).

Having been together now for 5 years, Hammerhead have gained National recognition and praise through their exciting live performances. 2014 saw the release of their debut CD ‘Mosaic’ which has received widespread critical acclaim in Australia and also Japan and the UK.

Playing a mix of original tunes, inspired by the compositions of the 50’s and 60’s hard bop movement as well as fantastic arrangements of some of the great music from that period.

The originals, penned by Jason Bruer, whilst retaining the essential elements of the ‘Hard Bop’ movement, reflect a more contemporary and eclectic approach incorporating swing, latin and funk styling.

2015 has seen the band rise in stature considerably and as a result have been featured at a number of prominent Jazz festivals around the Country including Manly Jazz Festival, Thredbo Jazz Festival , Capitol Jazz Project ( Canberra)  and most recently at arguably the biggest Jazz festival in Australia The Wangaratta Jazz & Blues festival.

Together with great arrangements of classic bop tunes, Hammerhead play with a spirit and energy that has won the Sextet rave reviews from their recent performances.



Comments ( 0 )